We know that the Normans made changes here but a pillar piscina is the onlyevidence. Greensted is believed to be on one of the shrines at which the martyred body of St Edmund was rested on its way to its final interment at Bury (St Edmunds) in 1013. Edmund, King of East Anglia, was killed by the Danes in 869 or 870. Whether he simply died in battle or, as the Church prefers to believe, he was martyred in the aftermath after refusing to renounce his faith we will never know. Strangely, however, the church is dedicated to St Andrew rather to St Edmund.
The Tudor period, however, gave us most of the church that we see today. The chancel was rebuilt in brick and thatch. Dormer windows were placed both sides of the nave roof. How different this is from the clerestory that enhances the light of most of our churches, and how utterly charming! The porch was added at this time. There is debate about the age of the tower. One of the bells is inscribed with the date 1618 but there are claims that it is older.
Our friends the Victorians left their mark, of course. By the time of its restoration in 1837, however, Greensted was in a state of neglect. The most obvious change was the replacement of the Tudor dormer windows. The roof trusses were made more elaborate. It would be easy to criticise the restoration, but the timber nave walls were spared apart from when repairs were needed and we are left with a church of great beauty.